FR Americas Alum Linus Lundqvist to Lead the Field to Green in Road America INDYCAR Race

2020 FR Americas Champion Linus Lundqvist Earns First-Career INDYCAR Pole at Road America


CHARLOTTE (June 8, 2024) – Just three and a half years after winning the championship in Formula Regional Americas Championship (FR Americas), Linus Lundqvist secured his first-career pole in INDYCAR competition. Piloting the No. 8 for Chip Ganassi Racing, Lundqvist became the first rookie to earn an INDYCAR pole in more than three years.

After earning the FR Americas title in 2020, the Sweden-born driver went on to win the 2022 INDY NXT championship, and made his INDYCAR debut in August 2023, substituting for an injured Simon Pagenaud.

Lundqvist will join four other FR Americas and Formula 4 United States Championship (F4 U.S.) graduates on the starting grid at Road America tomorrow. Kyle Kirkwood (2017 F4 U.S. and 2018 FR Americas Champion) will roll off fourth, while Kyffin Simpson (2021 FR Americas Champion) lines up 12th. Christian Rasmussen (2018 Third-Place F4 U.S. Champion) starts 16th, and Nolan Siegel (F4 U.S. alum) will take the green in 21st.

Earlier this week, it was announced that David Malukas (2020 FR Americas Vice Champion) would join Meyer Shank Racing as the driver of the No. 66 Honda at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca later this month.

Live coverage of the XPEL Grand Prix at Road America will start at 3:30 p.m. ET tomorrow on NBC and Peacock, and at 3 p.m. ET on the INDYCAR Radio Network.



Photo by Gavin Baker Photography.