Eves Moves Forward in Team USA Scholarship Shootout

As a result of his experience in the Formula 4 United States Championship Powered by Honda, an exciting opportunity has emerged for Braden Eves of Gahanna, Ohio. The F4 U.S. sophomore pilot will compete in the Team USA Scholarship two-day driver shootout at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, this week. 

Eves, 19, along with five additional finalists, two of whom are former F4 U.S. competitors (Colin Mullan and Tyler O’Connor), were chosen from a group of 10 nominated drivers to compete in the final shootout. Two drivers will win the ultimate prize to represent the United States in the Formula Ford Festival in Brands Hatch, England, Oct. 20-21 and the opportunity to race for the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone Nov.3-4.

To be considered, drivers were nominated by someone within the racing community to undergo the first process of interviews held during the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio, in July. Six finalists moved forward to the shootout, which will take place on Road America's short course. The group’s talents will be tested both on and off the track, including a fitness assessment by an accomplished group of judges, including former Indy 500 Rookie of the Year Steve Knapp; IndyCar driver and Lucas Oil School Chief Instructor RC Enerson; Indy Lights race winner-turned-DEForce Racing team manager/engineer Peter Dempsey; driver coach Steve Welk; former racer Gregory Hobbs, now Executive VP of David Hobbs Honda; Kelly Jones of RaceCraft1 Simulator Training and former Team USA Scholarship winner Michai Stephens.

Team USA alumnus and the F4 U.S. reigning champion Kyle Kirkwood was selected in 2016 for the prestigious award. The current F4 U.S. points leader, Dakota Dickerson, also represented Team USA in 2015. 

The overall winners of the scholarship will be announced at a later date following data analyzing from the weekend by the judges.