10 Fast Facts about VIR

1. What is F4’s history with VIR?

The Formula 4 United States Championship Powered by Honda staged its first race at VIR in 2017. It’s been a staple on the F4 U.S. schedule ever since, averaging 30 cars each visit.

2. Why is the event called the Andy Scriven Memorial Race Weekend?

Every year F4 U.S. honors Andy Scriven, the chief designer/creator of the Ligier JS F4 and Ligier JS F3, who sadly passed away following complications from a biking accident in 2017. Andy was instrumental in developing both single-seater championships and designing the first North American Halo.

3. Is the event open to spectators?

Due to recent COVID-19 mandates made by the state of Virginia, the race track will remained closed to all non-essential staff and crew members. Spectators will not be allowed to attend.

4. Will the event be streamed?

All three races will be live streamed on www.FANRacing.Live, available to a worldwide audience. Official Practices and Qualifying will not be live streamed, however, fans can still follow lap times on the Race Monitor App or by clicking here.

Full Event Schedule 

5. Track Facts:

17 Turns, 3.27 Miles, 130 Feet in Elevation Changes

6. What is the field size for the event?

33 cars made up of 26 rookies, 7 veterans from seven countries

Entry List

7. Who were the past winners at VIR?

2017: Baltazar Leguizamon (MVM), Jordan Sherratt (Crosslink/Kiwi), Kyle Kirkwood (Cape Motorsports)

2018: Benjamin Pedersen (GRG), Christian Rasmussen (JHDD), Christian Rasmussen (JHDD)

2019: Joshua Car (Crosslink/Kiwi), Arthur Leist (Crosslink/Kiwi), Christian Brooks (JHDD)

8. What team has the best record at VIR?

The best record is a tie between two teams. Crosslink/Kiwi Motorsport and Jay Howard Driver Development; both have three wins a piece at Virginia International Raceway. However, Crosslink/Kiwi Motorsport has the best podium-finish record, amassing 10 drivers on the podium at VIR from 2017-2019.

9. What are the track lap records?

Fastest Qualifying Lap: 1:54.282-seconds set by Arthur Leist in 2019

Fastest In-Race Lap: 1:53.630-seconds set by Kyle Kirkwood in 2017


10. What is the largest margin of victory, smallest margin of victory?

The largest margin of victory at VIR is 8.539-seconds set by Christian Rasmussen (JHDD) in his Race 3 win over second-place finisher Teddy Wilson (JHDD) in 2018.

The smallest margin of victory was also in 2018 when Benjamin Pedersen (GRG) crossed the stripe .122-seconds ahead of second-place finisher Christian Rasmussen (JHDD) in Race 1.